Life

Less Is More – By Simon Wells.

I just wanted to introduce you to my Husband Simon Wells who has wrote an incredible guest blog post on Add a Pinch of Grace. Hope you enjoy.
Less is more…
 
Jeremiah 29 verse 11 reads:
“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” (NLT).
 
It would be very easy of me to sit here at my dining table and say that all we need is the verse above. I could sit here and declare to you that, based on that verse, just trust God to do all he wants to do through you, and be ready to be amazed!
 
But I can’t. The reality is that we cannot just trust in Him, but KNOW Him, relate to Him personally, get God involved in all the dirt in your life, all the junk you really dont want anyone to know about.
 
God has been speaking to me so much recently about this very issue. I know that He requires me to verbally, and audiably declare the junk in my life in order for Him to take control, and rid me of those things. And that manifests itself in me as LESS IS MORE.
 
Less of me, and more of God.
 
See, the LESS I focus on myself, my world, my job, my friends, my connections, my finances, the MORE room I have in my life for God to invade and dwell. I’ve realised that over the past few years, my heart has been so full of my own plans and desires, that I haven’t allowed room for God to step in and change things, room for His plans to come to fruition.
 
“For He knows the plans He has for me..” would be more how I read that scripture. But in order for that to be the case, I have to surrender myself and permit God to overwhelm me, from the inside, where all my darkest and most personal things are.
 
How can God give me and show me all the plans and wonderful things He has for me if i can’t give Him all of myself? To me, that’s like wanting to have a full and bursting supermarket trolley of glorious fresh and tasty food, but only wanting to pay for half of it. It doesn’t work! It’s all or nothing.
James 4 verse 8 says this;
 
“So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come close to God, and God will come close to you.” (NLT)
 
My prayer for myself, and also for you reading this, is that we would draw close to God, allow Him room by dropping the junk and irrelevant desires from our hearts and letting Him work within us. May God reveal His beautiful and glorious plans to each of us, and begin taking us into the wonderful future that only He knows all about. LESS of ourselves, MORE of you, God.
 
Amen.
download
1 thought on “Less Is More – By Simon Wells.”

  1. Lovely thoughts Beth of our amazing God it’s all about His grace and goodness to us. I love Psalm 84 verse 11 ‘For God is a Sun and Shield the Lord bestows favor and honour, no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless. O Lord Almighty blessed is the man / woman who trusts in you! Lift up our shield if faith in a dark world and let us shine for Jesus! Keep writing be encouraged. I too love the sunshine spring and new life bursting with new life. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

