Uncategorized

Chosen.

Why do we fear rejection when ultimately we have the only true acceptance we need?

Growing up I was quite a shy insecure little girl. I can remember being as young as about 8 singing in my living room and my mum asking me to sing because I loved singing but I just couldn’t do it. As I remember this it brings so many memories about my fear of rejection from a young age. As I went into my teenage years I lived by the fear of rejection from friends, boyfriends and at times family I messed up a lot in my teenage years I did things to try and seek approval but in the end it would always lead to rejection. Why is that? As I got married and had children I thought that fear would go as I had a husband and I was positive he wouldn’t reject me but at times he does (not deliberate). This whole issue of rejection has had a massive impact on my social life as I struggle to let people in because I fear if they get to close they will reject me. So why am I now 28 and still living with the fear of rejection? Is it my character? Is it something built into me? 

Why am I bothered about other people’s views of me? I mean we all want to be liked I get that and we all want to feel liked but why am I so consumed with people’s opinion I miss Gods?

As I reflected over this thought I began to see some of my mistakes. God has accepted me as I am with all my imperfections and to him I am made new because I asked. God never rejects us, he never leaves us, he never stops loving us, he never stops caring for us, he never makes us feel second best because he chose us. When I thought on that whole fact he chose me I began to cry, I feel like all my life I have been so fearful of rejection I have missed the only true acceptance known and that’s Gods, I have desperately tried to find true acceptance and security and all this time God has shown me that. When I sinned he still chose me! Wow what a thought! 

God wants us to live a life of true acceptance and love he didn’t call us to live insecurely or live in fear but to live life to the full enjoying life with him.
I am consciously choosing to commit my everyday to God asking him to help me loose the fear of rejection and turn it into undstanding my worth in him. This will be a journey for me and one I will commit daily to him asking him to help me through but I know with God all things are possible.
I know this journey will not be easy but I don’t want to live a life of fear.

If you struggle with insecurity or fear of rejection please let me encourage you to reach out to God and ask him to help you understand your worth in him. If you have had lies said over your life please allow God to start working in your life to reveal the truth. 

Let’s go on this journey together! U

IMG_1715.JPG

Leave a Reply

